Banning PD Administration    

Bureaus and Programs

News & Upcoming Events  

Press Releases

Crime Stats

Banning's Most Wanted


Contact Us

Departmental Forms


Riverside County Gang Task Force

Department Policy and Procedures

Monthly Reports

Marsy's Law

U.S. Immigration and Customs

30 Day CrimeReport Maps










Frequently Asked Questions


Animal Control 

(951) 922-3301



Banning Police Department

 (951) 922-3170



Banning Police Administration

(951) 849-1003



Banning Police Detective Bureau

(951) 849-1004



Banning Police Department Rotary Telephone Line
(For Individuals with Rotary Telephones)

(951) 922-2287



Banning City Hall 
(Information Desk)

(951) 922-3105



Banning District Attorney's Office

(951) 922-7130



San Gorgonio Memorial Hospital

(951) 769-2121



Cabazon Sheriff's Station

(951) 955-2449



Larry D. Smith Correctional Facility  
(Riverside Sheriff's Department)

(951) 922-7300



All Reports

$15.00 per report

Repossession Fee


Clearance Letter


Fingerprints and Vehicle Release Fees


Live Scan

$15.00 + D.O.J.  and/or F.B.I. Fees if applicable

Vehicle Release (Stored)


Vehicle Release (30 Day Impound)


The Banning Police Department now offers Live Scan fingerprinting services to the 
community for the purposes of pre-employment screening only.



1:30 pm - 4:30 pm




No appointment is necessary. 
The Banning Police Department fingerprints on a walk-in, first come, first serve basis. You are encouraged to call (951) 922-3170 option 4 before coming into the Department to make sure there is staff available.  Payment, by cash only, must be made and valid identification provided to the technician before your fingerprints are scanned. Remember, you must bring the fingerprint application forms with you. The Banning Police Department does not provide live scan fingerprint forms. Please note, we take the last Live Scan applicant at 4:15 pm.

Live Scan Service Fees:

The Banning Police Department charges a $15.00 scanning fee. This fee is in addition to any other processing costs associated with your live scan application. This fee must be paid by either cash or money order (no credit cards will be accepted). Money Orders must be payable to: "City of Banning" any processing fees associated with your fingerprint application must also be paid at the time they are scanned.

Current processing fees

California Department of Justice


Federal Bureau of Investigation


Child Abuse Index Check


Firearms Check


Live Scan Service Documentation Required:

At the time your fingerprints are scanned, you must bring with you three (3) copies of the "REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE" fingerprint application form. The Banning Police Department will not provide photocopies of your forms. The following information must be provided on the form, by the agency, school, or employer requesting the fingerprints or the fingerprint technician cannot process your application: (Banning Police Department does not provide these forms on site.)

ORI number
Type of Application
Job Title or License
Agency authorized to receive criminal history information
Mail code and Billing number (if available)

You must also bring valid identification with you when you are being fingerprinted. Valid identification includes a California Driver's license or Identification Card. A valid passport with a birth certificate will also be accepted. No other forms of identification will be accepted for purposes of Live Scan fingerprinting.


Be Prepared

What A Dispatcher Needs To Know:

* Name, address, and phone number of 
   person calling
* Where the problem is occurring.
* What the problem is. 

The Dispatcher will need a basic description of what occurred, and if applicable:
    * When the incident occurred
    * Description of suspect(s), including race and 
    * If a weapon was involved and what type
    * Description of vehicle involved and in which direction 
       it left the scene

If you are calling to report a crime that has occurred in the past, or to ask a question, please call the non-emergency number, (951) 922-3170.

If you are calling to report a crime that has occurred in the past, or to ask a question, please call the non-emergency number, (951) 922-3170.


Why was my car impounded?

"Your vehicle was impounded because you or another individual driving your vehicle has:

* a suspended license

* a revoked license

* Or, do not have a license

14602.6 AND 14607.6

On January 1, 1995, new laws were enacted relating to unlicensed drivers. These laws, California Vehicle Code Sections 14602.6 and 14607.6 authorize law enforcement agencies to tow and impound vehicles for 30 days when driven by unlicensed, suspended or revoked drivers. There is a possibility that the vehicle could be forfeited (taken from you) if you have a prior conviction for driving while unlicensed, or with a suspended or revoked license.

How long will my vehicle be impounded?

"The vehicle will be impounded for 30 calendar days. The registered owner will have to pay for the towing and the 30-day storage fee to get the vehicle back at the end of that period".

The following excuses will not help you when your vehicle is being driven by an unlicensed driver and stopped by a law enforcement officer for any reason.

"It was a minor infraction. Why was my car impounded?"

Both 14602.6 and 14607.6 of the California Vehicle Code give law enforcement officers the authority to impound your vehicle when it is being operated by an unlicensed, suspended or revoked driver.

Your car is being impounded because you have committed a misdemeanor, not an infraction. By operating a motor vehicle without a valid driver's license you have committed a serious offense. In addition to the citation, the vehicle you are operating will be impounded and held for 30 days, or possibly forfeited.

"I don't understand. Why 30 days? I absolutely need my car!"

The legislature intended to provide safer roads for California's motoring public by removing the vehicles driven by unlicensed, suspended or revoked drivers for 30 days. A serious violation of the law calls for a serious response. The 30-day impound begins on the calendar day that the car is towed and will be released at the conclusion of the 30th day.

"My brother borrowed the car"....or...."I did not know his license was suspended".

Under section 14604 CVC, the owner of a motor vehicle has the duty to assure the person driving their vehicle has a valid license; however, if you allow or permit anyone, including your wife, son or daughter, friend or relative to drive your vehicle and that person does not have a valid license, you will be responsible for the towing and storage fees. You will not have access to the vehicle for 30 days.

"She took my car without my permission".....and...."I am the owner of the car and I have a valid license".

To say someone has taken your car without your permission is not a valid excuse. Ask yourself: How did this happen? Have you allowed him/her to use your car before? Did you ask to see his/her license? Any vehicle impounded for this violation will be released to the registered owner after 30 days.

NOTE: If, in fact, it is determined that your car was taken by an unlicensed driver without your knowledge or permission, a stolen vehicle report must be filed. The person charged with this crime will be arrested.

What happens to my car? Who impounds the car? 

Your car will be stored at a tow yard and you will be given a receipt.

What if I don't agree with the Officer?

If you disagree with the Officer, you may request an informal hearing with the Banning Police Department to determine whether the Officer had reasonable cause to impound the vehicle.

To request a 30 day impound hearing contact the Banning Police Department Dispatch Center at (951) 922-3170. The Dispatcher will schedule the hearing within a 48-hour period pursuant to 22852 VC. The appointments will be available between the hours of 8A.M. and 11A.M. Monday, Wednesday or Friday (Excluding holidays).

Pursuant to 22852 VC, a post storage hearing shall be conducted within 48 hours of a request (Excluding weekends and holidays)The hearing may be requested in person, by telephone or in writing within 10 days of the date appearing on the 30-day post storage impound notice. Failure of either the registered or legal owner, or his or her agent, to request or to attend a scheduled hearing shall satisfy the post storage hearing requirements.

Why is driving without a valid license so serious?

Driving in California is a privilege, not a right. An unlicensed driver is a potential danger to all other motorists on the road. A driver who is unlicensed, suspended, or revoked has been ordered not to drive because of previous driving violations. Continuing to drive shows a flagrant disregard to the safety of other motorists.

Getting your car released

At the end of 30 days, you must obtain a release from the Banning Police Department. You will be given a release after paying an administrative fee related to the towing, processing and storage of your vehicle.

Traffic Collisions: 
What to do when they occur

The first priority at the scene of an accident is the preservation of life and safety of the persons around an accident. If you are in a vehicle, stay in your vehicle, unless it is not safe to do so (e.g. fire or submerged vehicle). Many people are injured at the scene of an accident as they exit or re-enter their own vehicles. If you are not involved in the accident, get help in a safe manner by calling 9-1-1 at the nearest pay phone or by using a cellular phone.

If a cellular phone is used, a California Highway Patrol dispatcher will answer. If the accident occurred on surface streets in Banning, ask the dispatcher to be transferred to the Banning Police Department dispatch center to report an accident. If the accident did not occur in Banning, let the operator know what city you are in and they will transfer you appropriately.

When Connected To The Dispatcher, Report The Following Information: 

Location of the accident
How many injured persons (if any) 
The locations of the vehicles, property or pedestrians involved 
If you are a witness or an involved driver/passenger 
Descriptions and directions of travel of fleeing vehicles 
  (hit and run suspects)

If you are able, administer first aid to yourself first and then others. Stay at the scene of the accident and wait for help to arrive.

For questions regarding the Traffic Division of the Banning Police Department, call (951) 922-3170




Administration School Programs  I  Chaplain

Press Releases  I  Crime Stats  I  News & Events  I  FAQ's  

Contact Us  I  Home Page